Dear chessfriends,

Following the decision taken in Crakow during the ICCF Congress 2013, the European Championship 2014 – Preliminaries, will consist of 11 players per section, starting continuously after 1st January 2014 and played on the ICCF Server.

The winner and runner-up of a Preliminary section are entitled to one start in the Semi-Finals, regardless of rating.

The following players have the right to participate in the European Championship Preliminaries:
(a) players rated between 2100 and 2299 at the time of application.
(b) players who have won a European Championship Open Round, regardless of rating.
(c) until 30 September 2014 players without ICCF ratings may be nominated by National Federations.
Such Nominations must be accompanied by a statement of qualification confirming that the player
is considered to be of sufficient strength to enter directly into the Preliminaries.
(d)  Winners of European WS Higher Class started during the years 2011-2013.

From 1 January 2014, member Federations may annually submit 2 nominations (MFN) regardless of the specifications described above  to the European Championship Preliminaries. Additionally, those Federations declaring 200+ members (according to the 2013 membership fee statistics) for the previous year, may submit 1 extra such  nomination Member Federation Nomination (MFN), whilst those Federations declaring 500+ members may submit an additional 2 such MFN's (4 in total). Similarly those declaring 1000+ members may submit 3 such additional  MFN's (5 in total), whilst those with 2000+ members may submit a total of 6 and those with 5000+ members a total of 7.


The ICCF European Championship is reserved to those players from European countries..

Players may enter in the usual way through their National Federations or, where eligible, via the ICCF Direct Entry system. Players from countries not members of ICCF may submit entries only via the ICCF Direct Entry system.

Entries via National Federations should contain player’s name, E-mail address, ICCF ID and should be forwarded by Email to the Tournament Organizer, Leonardo Madonia, email:

It is also mandatory that the qualification right should be specified for each entry!

The ICCF Executive Board asks that all ICCF Delegates ensure that this important information is made available in all national CC magazines and websites. It is the responsibilty of Delegates to ensure that all players are made aware of these arrangements!


Amici sumus!

Marco Caressa
Zonal Director for Europe

Rules for European WS Championship.pdf